Map Dream

This is a non-video response to Map Dream.

I’m in a hotel room with my parents and younger brother. My elderly dad and I are sat up in bed. Mum’s shouting from the bathroom, ‘what are we going to get him?’ – I think we’re going to a birthday dinner – and Dad shouts back, ‘I’ve got a great idea, let’s give him that book by Walter Benjamin’. At the time of this dream, maybe 5 years ago, I didn’t know anything about Benjamin, but now i like the idea that he was talking about a book as big as the Arcades Project (although I doubt he ever read it). Anyway, I ask him ‘why’ or something, and he’s about to reply when he notices an enormous map of the world printed on the duvet covering him there in bed. It pains me but I must admit I can’t remember why his interest increased – it would be easy for me to make up reasons, or try to connect it with the Benjamin thing – but what’s certain is that his fascination led to him slowly uncovering his legs as he pulled the map/duvet up to his eyes for scrutiny. I remember my brother and I agreeing that it was wonderful to see him so interested in the world, but that he should really try and stay warm all the same.

One response to “Map Dream

  1. I love the image of the world with long legs…

Leave a Reply

